Fay’s take on: Eye in the Sky

Seen as this is a fairly new cinema release there are spoilers ahead guys!

I’m gonna try not to include too many because this is a film I’d recommend you see.

So I didn’t know all that much about this film before I made the spontaneous decision to go to the cinema after work yesterday, this was the one that was the most suitable time and the fact it had Helen Mirren in sold it for me, don’t think I’ve ever seen a film of hers I didn’t like!

Let me start by saying I am so glad I went to see this alone, I got totally lost in it. Had me on the edge of my seat, wondering what would happen next and willing the characters to make a good decision. It’s tense, thrilling and thought provoking. Β The way this is directed and shot gives it that edge. The soundtrack to this was extremely well done, it was a race against time and it gave the added impact of the feeling that every moment counted.

If you’ve seen the trailer you’ll know it’s about war, terror…and on some level making the decisions no one else wants to…it felt like a film that knew the direction it had to take with a topic like this.

I have to admit, hearing Alan Rickman’s voice and seeing him appear on screen got me a little emotional, so much respect for that man’s talent. I wish I could deliver a line like he could. His performance was flawless as expected.

And Helen Mirren, where do I start with that women? She’s still got it and was fantastic as a hardened soldier. There isn’t all that much action in this but it’s not needed, it was refreshing to see a film that doesn’t rely on action…it was about an ethical issue and it definitely got me thinking.

I got far more invested in this film as it progressed than I expected and the time seemed to fly, sometimes I find myself watching a film and think, this scene is way too long or will they just get to the point already?! With this none of that happened, I was drawn in from the moment it started and I was a little disappointed when it was over.

This is a drama, a thriller, it made me laugh and was a little unnerving too, to think that situation could very easily be a part of our real world. This film packs a punch without needing fancy action scenes or using the typical hot, young talent, it doesn’t need it, the actors on screen, all of them do a phenomenal job of bringing the story to life and of taking it on from very different angles. Respect to the writer Guy Hibbert on this too, after all, you can’t have a good film without good dialogue.

Go and see it, you may not like it as much as I did, everyone’s different after all, but it’s worth watching.

Fay xx

Leave a Reply

